How does prepayment work?
By clicking “Proceed to payment”, you’ll access a secure payment page where you can input your bank card details. This step is where you prepay for the reservation, meaning you are authorizing Roomlala to debit the total reservation price from your bank account only when the landlord has accepted your request. This is called a “debit authorization”.
At this stage, Roomlala has not charged you yet. This is to simply indicate to the landlord that you already wish to reserve their accommodation, and it will potentially maximise your chances of being chosen instead of other interested tenants.
Please know: it is possible that your bank will show this “prepayment” in your account. If this is the case, it may be shown as a “debit” even though it isn’t one. Find out more
What happens if the landlord accepts?
If the landlord accepts your reservation request, the debit authorization will turn into an actual debit: the reservation price will automatically be debited from your account and the reservation will be confirmed.
You therefore don’t need to input your bank details again in order to pay because you have already provided a debit authorization.
What happens if the landlord refuses my reservation request?
If the landlord refuses your reservation request, the debit authorization will then be cancelled. We won’t debit your account and we will inform your bank that they can unblock the amount that has been blocked off, meaning it will once again be available.
What happens if the landlord doesn’t respond to my reservation request?
If after 6 days, the landlord hasn’t accepted or refused your reservation request, the debit authorization will be cancelled. We won’t debit your account and we will inform your bank that they can unblock the amount that has been blocked off, meaning it will once again be available.
Prepayment is an option offered by Roomlala. It is not obligatory. If you don’t want to prepay, you can simply wait for the landlord to accept the rental and invite you to reserve. Once this has happened, you can pay and the reservation will be confirmed.
The debit authorization is still showing as a charge on your account even though it should have been cancelled? For more information, click here.
Didn't find an answer to your question? Contact us.